Be a champion for compassion

“The glow of one warm thought is to me worth more than money.” – Thomas Jefferson

We went to our favorite cafe for breakfast the day after Thanksgiving to satisfy my craving for their popular Amaretto French Toast. While in line to place our order, I noticed a man seated at a corner table, looking disheveled, clothes grungy, and a small stuffed duffel bag by his feet, quietly sipping a cup of coffee. As I headed for our table by the window, I noticed a small cart parked outside near the cafe entrance containing what looks like blankets, tarp and other random items.

I soon realized he was a homeless man living on the streets with the few possessions he has in his cart.  My heart sank knowing it’s most likely he won’t know where his next meal will come from.

Before enjoying my breakfast I decided to help ease his hunger by paying for a couple of warm, freshly-baked blueberry scones and having them anonymously brought to his table. I’ve had them before and I know they were scrumptious. It’s not much but he would at least have something warm in his tummy in addition to a cup of coffee.

Little did I know several cafe patrons had already paid for a full breakfast for him. Aside from my scones, I was glad to see the server bring him plate after plate of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, breakfast sausages, hash browns and pancakes.

How wonderful it was to see how my favorite cafe and the people having breakfast that morning open up their hearts and be a champion of compassion for this homeless man by providing him a brief respite from hunger on a cold winter day.

I hope his breakfast brought warmth not only to his tummy, but to his heart and spirit as well. Perhaps it gave him renewed energy and hope in finding a way to get back on his feet and start a new life. Sometimes, it only takes a spark to get the fire going within our souls. Who knows? Perhaps the generosity of individuals at the cafe—on the day after a holiday celebrating warmth and togetherness—served as that one spark of hope for him?  

via Daily Prompt: Champion

Leave a Reply

